= detailed info about particular elements of this page.




Plague of the Planet (Japan) (CD) (Import)

Ogre - Plague of the Planet (Japan) (Cover Art)

This item is unavailable.

Sorry, this item is no longer available for purchase.

This archive page is made available for informational purposes only.

 LABEL: Leaf Hound
 ORIGIN: Japan
 ITEM #: ATH-5432


  1. Requiem
  2. End-Days
  3. Drive
  4. Queen of Gasoline
  5. A Call to Colossus
  6. Deus ex Machina
  7. Colonizer Rex
  8. Battle at Doom Capital
  9. Homo Sapiens Ferreus
  10. G.F.R.
  11. Dawn of the Proto-Man
"While Plague of the Planet has plenty of the Pentagram-inspired riffs that defined their earlier work, the band's evolved into an amalgam of '70's rock. Given the length of this song, the band's wisely broken it into 11 suites, with each one taking on its own identity and sound. There's the heavy blues rock, some swinging boogie, classic doom, a couple of moments where they break out in a righteous early Iron Maiden-type gallop, atmospheric psychedelia, and plenty of solos that shows just how phenomenal a guitarist Ross Markonish is (bassist/vocalist Ed Cunningham and drummer Will Broadbent aren't slouches either – Ogre is a power trio in the truest sense of the word, and all three shine equally on Plague of the Planet). In true prog fashion, they manage to tie it all together musically. Bombastic, epic, grandiose, and altogether captivating - Plague of the Planet revels in excess and in a love of all things classic rock."

"Plague opens with a beautifully rendered guitar piece, joined by a wash of cymbals. Then it transitions through giant floor toms into a slow grind of electric guitar, bass, and drum — the classic-rock trio, a mix between Cream and Rush. From the outset, Ed Cunningham’s vocals have a delicious mythical slur to them, like he’s drunk on his own inventions. They are then mimicked by Ross Markonish’s guitar, which he plays languidly, pulling in and out of notes like they’ve been dipped in amber."

Sam Pfeifle

All Products from Ogre:


Visit All That is Heavy on Facebook